Board Members: Sam Hawgood

Sam Hawgood, M.B. B.S.

An executive officer from a UC with a medical school
Appointed by UCSF Chancellor

Sam Hawgood, MBBS, is currently Chancellor, Vice Chancellor Medical Affairs, UCSF
Professor, School of Medicine

Hawgood graduated with First Class Honors from the University of Queensland in Australia in 1975. After graduation, he trained in Australia in pediatrics with a sub-speciality interest in neonatology. Hawgood moved to UCSF in 1982 to work with William Tooley, MD, and John Clements, MD, pioneers in the discovery and therapeutic uses of pulmonary surfactant in premature babies.
Pulmonary surfactant keeps the lungs inflated and a developmental deficiency of surfactant is the major cause of the respiratory distress syndrome of the newborn (RDS).  Hawgood’s interest in the biology of surfactant grew from clinical experience in neonatology where RDS is a major cause of neonatal death.  He moved to UCSF in 1982 as a research fellow with Clements, the scientist that discovered surfactant in the late 1950’s. Hawgood started his own laboratory, focused on the proteins associated with surfactant, in 1984. A multi-disciplinary Program Project Grant from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute has supported his work since 1984. His scientific contributions over the last 25 years have been recognized by numerous invitations to present in national and international forums and continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health.

Hawgood has maintained an active presence in clinical medicine, serving as Division Chief of Neonatology at UCSF from 1994 to 2006. He has been an Associate Director of the CVRI since 1997, and was Chair of Pediatrics and Physician-in-Chief of the UCSF Children’s Hospital from 2003 to 2009. He is also currently President of the UCSF Medical Group, the faculty plan representing more than 1,000 physicians at UCSF.

In service to professional organizations Hawgood served on the Council of the Society for Pediatric Research for seven years between 1992 and 2000 and was President of the Society in 1999. He chaired the Program Committee for the Pediatric Academic Societies from 1998-2000 and in 2005 received the Distinguished Service Award from the Society for Pediatric Research. He was a Trustee and Secretary-Treasurer of the International Pediatric Research Society from 2003 to 2009. Hawgood has served on study sections for the NIH and is currently a member of the Program Project Parent Committee of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.  In addition, Hawgood was recently elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), part of the National Academy of Sciences

Alternate Member

Bruce Wintroub, MD
Interim Dean, School of Medicne

Dr. Wintroub was named interim dean of the School of Medicine in September 2014 and has served UCSF for more than 32 years. Most recently, he served as vice dean of the School of Medicine, a position he held for ten years. Dr. Wintroub is also a professor and has been chair of the Department of Dermatology since 1985. In addition to his work for UCSF, he is chair of the Dermatology Foundation, a nonprofit organization that provides research support for emerging teachers and researchers in dermatology. Dr. Wintroub has helped raise more than $60 million for the organization.

Dr. Wintroub received his MD from Washington University in St. Louis and completed residencies and fellowships at Harvard Medical School (immunology and dermatology) and Peter Bent Brigham Hospital (internal medicine). Prior to joining UCSF in 1982, he was a Harvard Medical School faculty member for six years.


© 2013 California Institute for Regenerative Medicine