CIRM Scientific and Medical Research Funding Working Group Biographical information of Alternate Scientific Members nominated to serve as full Scientific Members of the Working Group

Arthur Nienhuis, MD

Dr. Arthur Nienhuis is St, Jude Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine at the University of Tennessee, a member of the faculty at St. Jude Children's Research Hospitals' Division of Experimental Hematology, having served as director and chief executive officer of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. A distinguished clinician-scientist, he is a member of the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences and was past President of the American Society of Hematology. Dr. Nienhuis also held the position of chief of the Clinical Hematology and Deputy Clinical Director of the National Institutes of Health's National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLB). Dr. Nienhuis received his medical degree from the University of California at Los Angeles and has published numerous articles in leading scientific journals. His current research is focused on genetic therapy of hematological diseases and regulation of disorders that relate to the formation of blood or blood cells. He received the Henry M. Stratton Medal from the society for his outstanding body of work in the field of hematology

Jim M. Roberts, MD, PhD

Dr. Jim Roberts received his dual degrees from Columbia University in 1984 and now serves as director of the Division of Basic Sciences and Senior Vice President of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle. A world-renowned expert in cell cycle and cancer, he was appointed an affiliate professor of biochemistry at the University of Washington School of Medicine in 1989 and a Howard Hughes Investigator in 1997. He has been at the forefront of basic-research efforts aimed at understanding the mechanisms of cell division and their role in cancer development. He and his interdisciplinary team found two growth-regulating proteins that might be excellent biomarkers for determining survival of women with breast cancer.

Both members were appointed to serve as alternate Scientific Members of the Scientific and Medical Research Funding Working Group by the ICOC on May, 6, 2005.